Confessions of a Whole 30-er

If you have ever done a Whole 30, you know that it is not simple and definitely not always fun. For example, here are a few things I have been asking myself this week:

Why do I have to eat eggs again for about the twentieth time this week?

Why can’t I steal that waffle from my son right now?

Why am I drinking so much water that I have to go to the bathroom literally every ten minutes?

The answer to all of these questions (plus the dozen more I have on a daily basis) is because this is worth it! Being on the Whole 30 has not been easy. There have been ups, but their have definitely been downs. For starters, random cravings that pop up make me very frustrated–it’s only one piece of chocolate, right? Planning and preparing meal after meal every day can become overwhelming very quickly when you have an energetic and curious toddler with you at all times. These “difficulties,” however, are far outweighed by the rewards we have already seen these first two weeks. Keep in mind, this 30 days is just the beginning for us. We have not followed the rules to the tee every single day because of different things that have come up. I could beat myself up about this, but we see this as a complete lifestyle change for us. Every day is not going to be perfect. Car trouble will throw a wrench in our plans, dinner invitations will pop up. But, we keep going! Poor planning or the need for a quick fix has caused us to make a few less desirable choices, but these have not thrown us off course! Now, if you are wanting to reset your system and challenge yourself for just the 30 days, I very strongly recommend following every single rule exactly so that you will get the most out of the experience. (Once we have a full 30 days free of any special events we will be doing that as well). Moving on, here are just a few benefits we have seen in only 16 days of the program:

  • I go to bed at least 2-3 hours earlier than I used to and I am actually TIRED when I get in my bed! This never happens to me. I usually toss and turn for at least an hour, fretting or worrying over something, which keeps me awake even longer…Image-1
  • Rather than mindlessly eating some super unhealthy fast food meal in front of the TV, we get to spend time cooking together and eating a meal at the dinner table. We enjoy the sweet conversation with our toddler and get him to finally try some new foods!
  • My son who used to spit out every fresh fruit or fresh vegetable now chooses sliced apples over grilled cheese and will actually take a few bites of raw carrots. Amazing.
  • I don’t finish my plate at every meal. Even with having smaller portions at some meals, I have no desire to continue eating once I feel full. Seconds and desserts aren’t a thing anymore!
  • I can see my face clearing up and looking brighter than before. Dark spots under my eyes aren’t as dark and there are no pimples in sight!

While we are definitely still a work in process, this whole experience is making me so excited about the future. I hope this list encourages you to try something like a Whole 30. Trust me, it will be so worth it in the end when you no longer have cravings and you no longer feel like you need an afternoon nap every day! For some inspiration, take a look below at my second meal plan and the recipes used. Enjoy!

Whole30Part2

Shrimp Cobb Salad with Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette

Spinach Sausage Scramble

Paleo Cole Slaw

Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked Potato Wedges

The following are from Whole 30 by the Hartwigs:

Barbecue Sauce (for drumsticks)

Walnut-Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Cauliflower Rice

Classic Chili

No-Fuss Salmon Cakes

Leave a Reply

