Walking in the Light

IMG_5373This Whole 30 process has definitely been a physical challenge as well as a mental one. I’ve realized, though, that it is mostly a spiritual process for me. When I am not walking closely with God, when I am not in the light, when I am not in His Word, it is so easy to get off track with everything in my life. If I am not seeking Him with all of me, all of me will not be following Him. Simple enough, right? My perspective on each day, my mood, my heart are all drastically affected by my time with my closest Friend, my mighty Savior, my loving Father. That’s how it should be, and I pray that His presence would cover me each and every day. These words remind me just how important it is and how beautiful it can be when I commune with my God:

When my heart was embittered
And I was pierced
within,

Then I was senseless and ignorant;
I was like 
a beast before You.

Nevertheless I am continually with You;
You have taken hold of my right hand.

With Your counsel You will guide me,
And afterward receive me
to glory.

Whom have I in heaven but You?
And 
besides You, I desire nothing on earth.

My flesh and my heart may fail,
But God is the
strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Psalm 73:21-26

My flesh will fail. My heart will fail. But God is my strength and my portion forever. He is enough for me. He sustains me and fills me like nothing else can. So, when I’m frustrated that things aren’t going how I think they should, when I feel lost or confused about God’s direction for me, when I am doubting if things like this Whole 30 are even worth it, I can say with full assurance that He is with me. And that’s all that matters. That’s what will carry me through.

I have been reading through Tim Keller’s book The Songs of Jesus. (You can purchase it here.) It walks you through one Psalm each day and gives you a simple prayer to ask of the Lord. Psalm 1 gives a perfect thought to cling to in this season of new beginnings:

His delight is in the law of the Lord,

And in His law he meditates day and night.

He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water,

Which yields its fruit in its season

And its leaf does not wither;

This is what I desire for myself–that I would not only read God’s Word more, but that I would delight in it. Then, I will be firmly planted, grounded by this living water that He promises. I will yield fruit rather than becoming stagnant. I will not crumble at the wind and rain that comes my way, but I will remain firm in the presence of the Lord. This is beautiful. This is true. And this is what gives me hope for each day.

 

Leave a Reply

